As you and your team create agent records in AgencyBloc (manually or via data import), it’s possible to end up with duplicate records. Duplicates can make it difficult to find what you need and skew reporting.
You can merge duplicate agents to keep your account clean and tidy, but please do so with care. Merges cannot be undone. Learn what record and associated data, notably commissions, will be merged in this article.
IN THIS ARTICLE
To make sure you or another user have the proper merge permissions, go to Profile & Settings > Settings > Security Groups > choose a security group.
- Agency User
- Manage Users
- Manage Security Groups, Carrier Security Groups, and Teams
Steps to merge agents
After you’ve identified a duplicate agent, follow these steps to merge it into a single record:
- Access the agent record that you want to keep.
- This will be the master and ‘winner’ of the merge.
- From the record action menu, select Merge with Another… OR select “...review similar records & merge duplicates” in the yellow ribbon.
- If AgencyBloc detects duplicate records, an alert will appear near the bottom of the page with a link to review and merge records.
- Choose the duplicate record to merge into the master.
- The duplicate is the ‘loser’ of the merge. Its data will be moved to the master. Review the Record details section so you know what happens to merged data.
- Review the two records to confirm the merge.
- Merging cannot be undone, so choose carefully. Hover over the agent name to see more information. Review the Other impacted features section so you know how the merge affects other features in AgencyBloc.
- You’re all set.
- You’ll be returned to the master record and the duplicate record will be deleted.
Before merging, we recommend reviewing the table below so you know exactly what will happen to the merged data.
|Agent Detail & Custom Fields||Blank fields on the master will be updated with corresponding data from the duplicate. If the master and duplicate have a value in the same field, the value in the master is kept.|
|Agencies||Agencies will be updated to the master. If the master has an existing agency that matches the duplicate,|
|Clients||Clients will be moved or updated to the master.|
|Policies||Policies will be moved or updated to the master.|
|Activities||Activities will be moved the master.|
|Notes/Attachments||All notes/attachments will be moved to the master. If the master and duplicate have a pinned note, the master’s pinned note is kept.|
|E&O||Blank fields on the master will be updated with corresponding data from the duplicate. If the master and duplicate have a value in the same field, the value in the master is kept.|
|Contracts||Contracts will be moved to the master.|
|Licenses||Licenses will be moved to the master.|
|Personal Info||Blank fields on the master will be updated with corresponding data from the duplicate. If the master and duplicate have a value in the same field, the value in the master is kept.|
|Emails||Incoming and outgoing emails will be moved to the master.|
Other impacted features
If your agency processes commissions in AgencyBloc, your agent records will be tied to commission history and settings. Merging duplicate agents could change commission history and settings, even for locked statement dates.
|Payee schedules||Payee schedules that include the duplicate will be updated to reflect the master.|
|Commission entries||Commission entries that include the duplicate will be updated to reflect the master.|
|Policy payees||All policies with the duplicate listed as a payee will be updated to show the master.|
|Policy payment history||The payee and agent # tied to commission payments on the policy > Payment History page will update from the duplicate to the master. Payments won't leave the policy.|
User Settings (Accessible agents, linked agents, and statements)
In Profile & Settings > Settings > User Settings, agent records can be assigned to users as linked agents, accessible agents, or view agent commission statements. These settings control which records a user, with assigned-only permissions, can access.
Keep in mind, merging duplicate agent records could affect these settings. All users that list the duplicate agent record as a linked agent, accessible agent, or view agent commission statements will update to reflect the master.
In particular, any users who had the duplicate listed as an accessible agent could potentially gain access to records that they did not have before.
Email campaigns & automated workflows
When merging agents, the duplicate is deleted. This can affect email campaigns and automated workflows.
- Email campaigns - Scheduled drip email campaigns that include the duplicate agent as a recipient will not send an email to it.
- Automated workflows - Automated workflows that were triggered by the duplicate agent will not perform any actions that are scheduled to occur after the agent was deleted. Also, please note that merging could trigger a workflow.
Can I undo a merge?
Good question. Merges cannot be undone.
Can I merge several records at the same time?
If you have several records you need to merge, pick the record you want to be the master, then merge each duplicate record into the one master record.
What happens if someone tries to go to the merged duplicate record?
You’ll see a message letting you know the record has been merged and can review the merge history along with who performed the merge.
What happens when you want to switch the master and duplicate?
In this case, cancel the merge. Then, go to the record you want to be the master and start the merge process.
Can I merge agents to reassign a book of business or policies from one agent to another?
If you want to merge agent records for reasons other than to remove duplicates, such as moving a book of business, please contact our Client Success Team. We may have tools that are better suited to your needs.