As you and your team create group records in AgencyBloc (manually or via data import), it’s possible to end up with duplicate records. Duplicates can make it difficult to find what you need and skew reporting.
You can merge duplicate groups to keep your account clean and tidy, but please do so with care. Merges cannot be undone. Learn what record and associated data will be merged in this article.
IN THIS ARTICLE
To make sure you or another user have the proper merge permissions, go to Profile & Settings > Settings > Security Groups > choose a security group.
The security group must have the Edit and Delete checkboxes marked under “Group Permissions”.
Steps to merge groups
After you’ve identified a duplicate group, follow these steps to merge it into a single record:
- Access the group record that you want to keep.
- This will be the master and ‘winner’ of the merge.
- From the record action menu, select Merge with Another… OR select “...review similar records & merge duplicates” in the yellow ribbon.
- If AgencyBloc detects duplicate records, an alert will appear near the bottom of the page with a link to review and merge records.
- Choose the duplicate record to merge into the master.
- The duplicate is the ‘loser’ of the merge. Its data will be moved to the master. Review the Record details section so you know what happens to merged data.
- Review the two records to confirm the merge.
- Merging cannot be undone, so choose carefully. Hover over the group name to see more information. Review the Other impacted features section so you know how the merge affects other features in AgencyBloc.
- You’re all set.
- You’ll be returned to the master record and the duplicate record will be deleted.
Before merging, we recommend reviewing the table below so you know exactly what will happen to the merged data.
|Group Detail & Custom Fields||Blank fields on the master will be updated with corresponding data from the duplicate. If the master and duplicate have a value in the same field, the value in the master is kept.|
|Individuals||Individuals will be moved to the master. If the master and duplicate have a primary contact, the master’s primary contact is kept.|
|Policies||Policies and policy enrollments will be moved to the master.|
|Activities||Activities will be moved the master.|
|Notes/Attachments||All notes/attachments will be moved to the master. If the master and duplicate have a pinned note, the master’s pinned note is kept.|
|Emails||Incoming and outgoing emails will be moved to the master.|
|Workflows||The duplicate’s workflows and triggered actions will not be moved.|
Other impacted features
Email campaigns & automated workflows
When merging groups, the duplicate is deleted. This can affect email campaigns and automated workflows.
- Email campaigns - Scheduled drip email campaigns that include the duplicate group as a recipient will not send an email to it.
- Automated workflows - Automated workflows that were triggered by the duplicate group will not perform any actions that are scheduled to occur after the group was deleted. Also, please note that merging could trigger a workflow.
Can I undo a merge?
Good question. Merges cannot be undone.
Can I merge several records at the same time?
If you have several records you need to merge, pick the record you want to be the master, then merge each duplicate record into the one master record.
What happens if someone tries to go to the merged duplicate record?
You’ll see a message letting you know the record has been merged and can review the merge history along with who performed the merge.
What happens when you want to switch the master and duplicate?
In this case, cancel the merge. Then, go to the record you want to be the master and start the merge process.