There may be times when you need to tweak a workflow to better accommodate your business processes. Maybe you need to change the trigger criteria, or add or edit an action. Learn how to make these changes in this article.
For more about archiving workflows and deleting workflow drafts, visit the Managing Workflows article.
IN THIS ARTICLE
Editing Workflow Details & Trigger
You can edit a workflow in a few steps:
- Go to the Saved Workflows tab, then select the name of the workflow you'd like to edit.
- On the workflow’s Details tab, review and edit details as necessary.
- Once you've made updates to your workflow, select Save to keep your changes.
Workflow details you can change and when:
|When you can edit
|You can always edit the workflow name.
|Trigger Type & Trigger When
|You can only change the trigger type and when details before the workflow has been activated.
|And Meet Criteria
You can edit the criteria at any time. Once changes have been saved, your workflow will trigger based on your updated criteria.
Keep in mind, changing the criteria on an active workflow may remove records that have already triggered the workflow.
|Allow this event to recur yearly
|You can always edit if you want to allow the workflow to recur yearly (when available for a trigger type).
Editing Workflow Actions
You can add, update, or delete workflow actions. When a workflow has performed actions, some things can't be changed and we'll cover that in detail below.
To add a new action to an existing workflow:
- Go to a workflow’s Actions tab and select "New Action".
- Select the action type you want to add and fill in the details of your action.
- Select "Save Action". The new action will save and become active.
Keep in mind, actions added to an active workflow will only take effect for the following situations:
- For records that have not triggered the workflow
- When the workflow has not advanced past the timing of the new action.
You can edit existing actions by clicking on the name of the action in the workflow > Actions tab. Clicking on the name of the action will direct you to the action’s detail where you can make changes. After updating your action, remember to save the changes.
Action details you can edit and when:
If the action has sent an email or created and assigned an activity, you won’t be able to edit the following details:
|What you can't edit
|Changing the action type. For example, changing an action from “Send an Email” to “Create & Assign an Activity”.
|Changing the timing of action - when the action sends the email or creates and assigns the activity.
|For an email action, the “Send To” field can't be edited if it has sent an email.
You can delete an action if it has not sent an email or created and assigned an activity. To delete an action, click on the name of the action in the workflow’s Actions tab and select “Delete Action”.
Actions can have a status of active or inactive. By default, actions in a workflow are active. You can inactivate actions that are no longer needed. To inactivate an action, select the name of the action from the workflow’s Actions tab and select “Inactivate Action”.